Training Series: Golf Exercise #3 - The Phil Mickelson Putt-Circle

Do you know Mr. Mickelson's DVD "Secrets of the short game"? There Phil shows the following exercise and explains why it is so good. It is actually quite simple, you take 10 tees, 10 balls, one hole with break and the putter. Then you put a putter length around the hole the tees into the green and put the balls next to it. Now you have almost ten putts about the length of 1.20m in front of you with different breaks.

In the photo there are only five balls to be seen, because I didn't have any balls in my bag that day. But it works the same way. The goal is now 100 balls one after the other by going clockwise. As soon as someone passes by, you start from scratch. Since that can be really nerve-wracking and is the level of a major winner, you can of course set yourself smaller goals. I (HCP of +2) usually do up to 50.

putt-circle

Phil Mickelson says on the DVD that he does this exercise 2-3 times a week. But I can say that once a week brings a lot. These putts on the round become much safer and fall almost by themselves :-)

putt-circle2

Why is Phil practicing putts like that now? Quite simply, if he plays the flag (mainly with the wedges), he tries to get exactly into this 1.20m circle. Then he knows that he makes this putt to 100% (if he managed the exercise without any mistake ;-). Exercise #1 shows a good exercise for the Distance control during pitching.

Write a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked.

We make you a unique offer

Lösen Sie diesen Gutschein jetzt unverbindlich ein, und Sie erhalten beim Kauf:

- 100 free bamboo teas
- free battery
- free shipping
- free exercises


The voucher is only visible in the shopping cart. If you do not want to redeem the voucher, close this window with the ESC key.
REDEEM VOUCHER NOW
close link

Our service

Let us send you our effective golf exercises simply by e-mail.
It's free and you can delete your address at any time.
Send now

Golf-Übungen per Mail

Lassen Sie sich unsere Golf-Übungen einfach per E-Mail zusenden. Es ist kostenlos.
ZUSCHICKEN
close link

Trainingsreihe: Golf-Übung #3 – Der Phil Mickelson Putt-Circle

Kennen Sie die DVD von Herrn Mickelson „Secrets of the short game“? Da zeigt Phil die nachfolgende Übung und erklärt, warum sie so gut ist. Sie ist eigentlich ganz einfach, man nimmt 10 Tees, 10 Bälle, ein Loch mit Break und den Putter. Dann steckt man eine Putterlänge um das Loch die Tees in das Grün und legt die Bälle daneben. Man hat jetzt quasi zehn Putts ca. der Länge 1,20m vor sich mit verschiedenen Breaks.

Auf dem Foto sind nur fünf Bälle zu sehen, weil ich an dem Tag nicht mehr im Bag hatte. Aber es klappt ja genauso. Ziel ist es jetzt 100 Bälle hintereinander zu lochen, indem man im Uhrzeiger vorgeht.. Sobald einer vorbei geht, startet man von neu. Da das wirklich nervenaufreibend sein kann und das Niveau eines Major-Siegers ist, kann man sich natürlich kleinere Ziele stecken. Ich (HCP von +2) mache meistens bis 50.

putt-circle

Phil Mickelson sagt übrigens auf der DVD, dass er diese Übung 2-3x die Woche macht. Aber ich kann behaupten, einmal pro Woche bringt auch schon sehr viel. Diese Putts auf der Runde werden dadurch viel sicherer und fallen fast von selbst :-)

putt-circle2

Warum übt Phil jetzt solche Putts? Ganz einfach, wenn der die Fahne anspielt (hauptsächlich mit den Wedges), versucht er genau in diesen 1,20m Kreis zu kommen. Da weiß er dann, dass er diesen Putt zu 100% macht (sofern er die Übung ohne Fehler schaffte ;-). Übung #1 zeigt eine gute Übung für die Distanzkontrolle beim Pitchen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.